The newest Google Maps App update for Android now warns users when a business they are navigating to is either closed or will be closed by the time they arrive.
A message pops up that reads, “Your destination may be closed by the time you arrive.”
This is just one more reason why you need to make sure that your Google Local Business information is correct and Google is showing the correct hours for your business. After all you don’t want Google warning a potential customer that you are closed when in fact you are open for another three or four hours.
But How does Google know your hours?
Google can use a number of sources from around the web to try to locate your hours, such as your website or other profiles like YellowPages.
The other way is through your Google Maps Listing within your Google My Business account. Once you claim and verify your listing you can edit your hours of operation. Just to clarify as Google has undergone a lot of name changes, the Google My Business is the new dashboard that contains what we used to refer to as “Google Places for Business”, a “Google business page”, “Google+ Local listing” and “Google Plus for Business”.
Happy confirming and editing your hours of operation!